DRS

SPECIAL INTEREST GROUP CONTACTS

SIGs are a primary means to implement ASCO’s mission of “fulfilling the leadership role in the optometric education enterprise.” SIGs operate within ASCO and report activities and policy recommendations to the appropriate committees.

 

Binocular Vision and Perception Educators

Dr. Valerie Kattouf (ICO), Chair
Vkattouf@ico.edu

Biomedical Science Educators

Dr. Steve Pittler (UAB), Chair
pittler@uab.edu

Clinical Directors/Administrators

Dr. Scott Klemens (PUCO), Chair
klemens@pacificu.edu

Clinical Optometric Methods & Procedures Instructors

Dr. Edeline Lu (SCCOMBKU), Chair
elu@ketchum.edu

Continuing Education Directors

Ms. Miki Buckingham (PUCO), Chair
mikibuckingham@pacificu.edu

Development Directors

Ms. Dawn Rigney (SUNY), Chair
drigney@sunyopt.edu

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Dr. Gary Chu (NECO), Chair
chu@neco.edu

Educational Technology

Dr. Jeff Perotti (IUSO), Chair
jperotti@indiana.edu

Ethics Educators

Dr. Melissa Suckow (CCO), Chair
msucko@midwestern.edu

Externship Directors

Elyse Chaglasian (ICO), Co-chair
echaglas@ico.edu
Dave Durkee (MCO), Co-chair
daviddurkee@ferris.edu

International Optometric Educators

Dr. Melissa Vitek (PCO), Chair
mvitek@salus.edu

Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice

Dr. Melissa Zarn (SCO), Chair
mzarn@sco.edu

Low Vision Educators

Dr. Kathleen Boland (UMSL), Chair
bolandk@umsl.edu

Neuro-rehab Educators

Dr. Katherine Green (NOVA), Chair
kgreen2@nova.edu

Ophthalmic Optics Educators

Dr. Maria Armandi (PCO @ Salus), Co-Chair
marmandi@salus.edu

Dr. Rachel Brackley (PCO @ Salus), Co-Chair
rbrackley@salus.edu

Public Health Educators

Dr. Melissa Contreras (SCCOMBKU), Co-chair
mcontreras@ketchum.edu

Dr. Diane Russo (NECO), Co-chair
russod@neco.edu

Residency Educators

Dr. Dawn Goedde (OSU), Co-Chair
goedde.11@osu.edu

Dr. Don Lyon (IUSO), Co-Chair
dwlyon@indiana.edu

Vision Science Librarians

Mr. Rudy Barreras (WUCO), Chair
rbarreras@western.edu