DRS

SPECIAL INTEREST GROUP CONTACTS

2017-2018

SIGs are a primary means to implement ASCO’s mission of “fulfilling the leadership role in the optometric education enterprise.” SIGs operate within ASCO and report activities and policy recommendations to the appropriate committees.

 

Binocular Vision and Perception Educators

Dr. Christina Esposito (AZCOPT), Chair
cespos@midwestern.edu

Biomedical Science Educators

Dr. Lourdes Fortepiani (RSO), Chair
fortepia@uiwtx.edu

Clinical Directors/Administrators

Dr. Mark Nakano (SCCOMBKU), Chair
mnakano@ketchum.edu

Clinical Optometric Methods & Procedures Instructors

Dr. Catherine Heyman (SCCOMBKU), Co-Chair
cheyman@ketchum.edu

Dr. Edeline Lu (SCCOMBKU), Co-Chair
elu@ketchum.edu

Continuing Education Directors

Dr. Jennifer Ebert (UHCO), Co-chair
jebert@central.uh.edu

Dr. Sandra Fortenberry (RSO), Co-chair
fortenbe@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Amanda Johnson (UHCO), Co-chair
apjohns7@central.uh.edu

Dr. Ellen Shaw (UHCO), Co-chair
eeshaw@central.uh.edu

Development Directors

Ms. Rachel Childress (OSU), Chair
rchildress@optometry.osu.edu

Educational Technology

Dr. Dean Swick (SCO), Chair
dean.swick@sco.edu

Ethics Educators

Dr. Paula McDowell (MCO), Chair
PaulaMcDowell@ferris.edu

Externship Directors

Dr. Aarlan Aceto (CCO),  Co-chair
aaceto@midwestern.edu

Dr. Dr. Vikki Yu (UCB), Co-chair
vyu@berkeley.edu

International Optometric Educators

Dr. Marcela Frazier (IAUPR), Chair
mfrazier@uabmc.edu

Low Vision Educators

Dr. Rebecca Marinoff (SUNY), Chair
rmarinoff@sunyopt.edu

Neuro-rehab Educators

Dr. Surbi Bansal (UCB), Chair
bansals@berkeley.edu

Ophthalmic Optics Educators

Dr. Rick Savoy (SCO), Chair
rsavoy@sco.edu

Public Health Educators

Dr. Mort Soroka (SUNY), Chair
msoroka@sunyopt.edu

Residency Educators

Dr. Douglas Hoffman (NECO), Co-Chair
hoffmand@neco.edu

Dr. David S. Loshin (NOVA), Co-Chair
loshin@nova.edu

Vision Science Librarians

Ms. De De Rios (RSO), Chair
dmrios1@uiwtx.edu