DRS

SPECIAL INTEREST GROUP CONTACTS

SIGs are a primary means to implement ASCO’s mission of “fulfilling the leadership role in the optometric education enterprise.” SIGs operate within ASCO and report activities and policy recommendations to the appropriate committees.

 

Binocular Vision and Perception Educators

Dr. Alicia Feis (AZCOPT), Chair
afeis@midwestern.edu

Biomedical Science Educators

Dr. Lourdes Fortepiani (RSO), Chair
fortepia@uiwtx.edu

Clinical Directors/Administrators

Dr. Marcus G. Piccolo (UHCO), Chair
mpiccolo@central.uh.edu

Clinical Optometric Methods & Procedures Instructors

Dr. Catherine Heyman (SCCOMBKU), Chair
cheyman@ketchum.edu

Continuing Education Directors

Holly Frost (UIWRSO), Chair
hfrost@uiwtx.edu

Development Directors

Ms. Sommer Thompson (UABSO), Chair
sommerthompson@uab.edu

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Dr. Gary Chu (NECO), Chair
chu@neco.edu

Educational Technology

Dr. Jeff Perotti (IUSO), Chair
jperotti@indiana.edu

Ethics Educators

Dr. Melissa Suckow (CCO), Chair
msucko@midwestern.edu

Externship Directors

Elyse Chaglasian (ICO), Co-chair
echaglas@ico.edu
Dave Durkee (MCO), Co-chair
daviddurkee@ferris.edu

International Optometric Educators

Dr. Melissa Vitek (PCO), Chair
mvitek@salus.edu

Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice

Dr. Melissa Zarn (SCO), Chair
mzarn@sco.edu

Low Vision Educators

Dr. Rebecca Marinoff (SUNY), Chair
rmarinoff@sunyopt.edu

Neuro-rehab Educators

Dr. Surbhi Bansal (UCB), Chair
bansals@berkeley.edu

Ophthalmic Optics Educators

Dr. Christina Llerena Law (NOVA), Chair
lcristin@nova.edu

Public Health Educators

Dr. Melissa Contreras (SCCOMBKU), Co-chair
mcontreras@ketchum.edu

Dr. Diane Russo (NECO), Co-chair
russod@neco.edu

Residency Educators

Dr. Douglas Hoffman (NECO), Co-Chair
hoffmand@neco.edu

Dr. David S. Loshin (NOVA), Co-Chair
loshin@nova.edu

Vision Science Librarians

Mr. Rudy Barreras (WUCO), Chair
rbarreras@western.edu

Dr. Dede Rios (UIWRSO), Co-Chair
dmrios1@uiwtx.edu