Page 22 - ASCO Annual Report 2019
P. 22

One Volunteer At A Time
2019 ASCO Awardees
Dr. Bhavna Pancholi Dr. Mark Dunne Dr. Arol Augusburger Dr. Diane Russo Dr. Richard Weisbarth
       Each year ASCO celebrates and acknowledges volunteers who have gone above and beyond for the benefit of academic optometry.
Awardees are recognized at ASCO’s Annual Leadership Luncheon, held immediately following ASCO’s Annual Meeting. Hoya has generously sponsored the Luncheon for 10 years.
In 2019 Dr. Arol Augsburger, President Emeritus
of Illinois College of Optometry, was given ASCO’s Lifetime Achievement Award for his exceptional lead- ership and outstanding contributions to the optometric community, as well as his extraordinary commitment and dedication to the Association.
Additional awards:
• Dr. Lester Janoff Award recipients: Drs. Mark Dunne and Bhavna Pancholi of Aston University. This rec- ognizes the outstanding writing of a research article published in the ASCO Journal Optometric Education.
• Student Award in Clinical Ethics: Negar Sohbati of the Illinois College of Optometry, Class of 2020. Sponsored by Alcon, this award is available to
optometry students who write the best essay describing and discussing ethical theories and values.
• Rising Star Award: Dr. Diane Russo of the New England College of Optometry. Sponsored by Oculus, this award recognizes a faculty member or admin- istrator with less than seven years of service who
has made noteworthy contributions to fulfilling the mission, strategic objections or programs of ASCO. Record number of nominations in 2019!
• Ophthalmic Industry Leadership Award: Dr. Richard E. Weisbarth (Alcon). This recognizes an individual from a current or past Corporate Contributor partner company who demonstrates exemplary support of ASCO and its member institutions.
Also in 2019, we celebrated the retirements of three Board members, Drs. Arol Augusburger (ICO), Earl Smith (UHCO) and Morris Berman (MCPHS), and we mourned the passing of Dr. Donald Jarnigan (AZCOPT).
22 • ASCO Annual Report
Thank you Oculus!
Oculus has sponsored the Rising Star Award for the 5th year, since the award’s inception.

   20   21   22   23   24