Special Interest Groups (SIGs)

Special Interest Groups (SIGs) are a primary means of implementing ASCO’s mission of “fulfilling the leadership role in the optometric education enterprise” and for addressing the Association’s Strategic Objectives of faculty development and faculty involvement. They are a practical way to meet special needs and interests within the optometric education enterprise.

SIG Framework

SIG Contacts

Advancement

Ms. Dawn Rigney (SUNY), Chair
drigney@sunyopt.edu

Binocular Vision and Perception Educators

Dr. Valerie Kattouf (ICO), Chair
Vkattouf@ico.edu

Biomedical Science Educators

Dr. Steve Pittler (UAB), Chair
pittler@uab.edu

Clinical Directors/Administrators

Dr. Scott Klemens (PUCO), Chair
klemens@pacificu.edu

Clinical Optometric Methods & Procedures Instructors

Dr. Eunice Myung Lee (SCCOMBKU), Co-chair
emyung@ketchum.edu

Dr. Ashley Speilburg (ICO), Co-chair
AScheurer@ico.edu

Continuing Education Directors

Ms. Katherine Clore (UAB), Co-chair
kclore@uab.edu

Ms. Kathry Trammell (UAB), Co-chair
ktram@uab.edu

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Dr. Keshia Elder (UAB), Chair
kselder@uab.edu

Educational Technology

Dr. Thomas Wong (SUNY), Chair
tawong@sunyopt.edu

Ethics Educators

Dr. Melissa Suckow (CCO), Chair
msucko@midwestern.edu

Externship Directors

Elyse Chaglasian (ICO), Co-chair
echaglas@ico.edu
Dave Durkee (MCO), Co-chair
daviddurkee@ferris.edu

International Optometric Educators

Dr. Melissa Vitek (PCO), Chair
mvitek@salus.edu

Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice

Dr. Melissa Zarn (SCO), Chair
mzarn@sco.edu

Low Vision Educators

Dr. Kathleen Boland (UMSL), Chair
bolandk@umsl.edu

Neuro-rehab Educators

Dr. Katherine Green (NOVA), Chair
kgreen2@nova.edu

Ophthalmic Optics Educators

Dr. Maria Armandi (PCO @ Salus), Co-Chair
marmandi@salus.edu

Dr. Rachel Brackley (PCO @ Salus), Co-Chair
rbrackley@salus.edu

Public Health Educators

Dr. Melissa Contreras (SCCOMBKU), Co-chair
mcontreras@ketchum.edu

Dr. Diane Russo (NECO), Co-chair
russod@neco.edu

Residency Educators

Dr. Dawn Goedde (OSU), Co-Chair
goedde.11@osu.edu

Dr. Don Lyon (IUSO), Co-Chair
dwlyon@indiana.edu

Vision Science Librarians

Mr. Rudy Barreras (WUCO), Chair
rbarreras@western.edu