Teaching Case Reports — Compiled from Optometric Education

(Posted 3/17/2020)

We hope everyone is well during these times.

Many optometric academic institutions are currently struggling with providing a clinical experience to students who are not examining patients due to COVID-19. For the past several years, Optometric Education (https://journal.opted.org), has been publishing teaching case reports.

These reports combine a case report with educational guidelines (how to teach the material). Teaching case reports include: background, educational guidelines, case description, learning objectives, key concepts, discussion points, discussion/conclusion and references.

Throughout these next few days, the list will be added to.

Hope these can help.

1). Blebitis – A Teaching Case Report
https://journal.opted.org/…/blebitis-a-teaching-case-report/

2) Optic Neuritis Associated with Multiple Sclerosis – https://journal.opted.org/…/sudden-blind-spots-and-halos-a…/

3) Diagnosis and Management of Residual Amblyopia in a Non-Compliant Patient – https://journal.opted.org/…/diagnosis-and-management-of-re…/

4) Optic Nerve Melanoctyoma – https://journal.opted.org/…/optic-nerve-melanoctyoma-a-tea…/

5) Hypertensive Choroidopathy – https://journal.opted.org/…/hypertensive-choroidopathy-a-t…/

6) Ocular Chrysiasis – https://journal.opted.org/…/ocular-chrysiasis-a-teaching-c…/

7) Amiodarone Ocular Toxicity Emphasizing Optic Neuropathy – https://journal.opted.org/…/amiodarone-ocular-toxicity-emp…/

8) Cerebral Venous Sinus Thrombosis Signaled by Bilateral Optic Disc Edema and Unilateral pre-Retinal Hemorrhage – https://journal.opted.org/…/cerebral-venous-sinus-thrombos…/

9) Vitamin B12 Deficiency Optic Neuropathy – https://journal.opted.org/…/vitamin-b12-deficiency-optic-n…/

10) Hyperopia and Presbyopia – https://journal.opted.org/…/hyperopia-and-presbyopia-a-tea…/

11) Long-term Follow up of Suspected Vaccine Induced Papillitis – https://journal.opted.org/…/long-term-follow-up-of-suspect…/

12) Plateau Iris Syndrome and Acute Angle Closure Glaucoma – https://journal.opted.org/…/plateau-iris-syndrome-and-acut…/

13) Targeting Intraocular Pressure in Glaucoma – https://journal.opted.org/…/targeting-intraocular-pressure…/

14) Peripapillary Retinoschisis and Glaucoma Connection – https://journal.opted.org/…/peripapillary-retinoschisis-an…/

15) Topiramate Induced Acute Bilateral Angle Closure Glaucoma and Transient Myopia – https://journal.opted.org/…/topiramate-induced-acute-bilat…/

16) Planning Ahead for Corneal Epithelial Dystrophy – https://journal.opted.org/…/planning-ahead-for-corneal-epi…/

17) Terriens Marginal Degeneration – https://journal.opted.org/…/terriens-marginal-degeneration…/

18) Herpes Zoster Opthahalmicus – https://journal.opted.org/…/herpes-zoster-ophthalmicus-a-t…/

19) Traumatic Hyphema – https://journal.opted.org/…/traumatic-hyphema-a-teaching-c…/

20) Ocular and Generalized Myasthenia Gravis – https://journal.opted.org/…/ocular-and-generalized-myasthe…/

21) Idiopathic Macular Hole – https://journal.opted.org/…/idiopathic-macular-hole-a-teac…/

22) Functional Vision Loss in a Community Health Care Setting – https://journal.opted.org/…/functional-vision-loss-in-a-co…/

23) Carbon Monoxide and the Eye – https://journal.opted.org/…/carbon-monoxide-and-the-eye-a-…/

24) Anterior Uveitis – https://journal.opted.org/…/anterior-uveitis-teaching-case…/

25) Contact Lens Related Corneal Ulcer – https://journal.opted.org/…/contact-lens-related-corneal-u…/

26) Vernal Keratoconjunctivitis – https://journal.opted.org/…/vernal-keratoconjunctivitis-a-…/

27) Acute Ocular Trauma in a Child – https://journal.opted.org/…/acute-ocular-trauma-in-a-child…/

28) Critical Thinking in Diagnosing Primary Open Angle Glaucoma – https://journal.opted.org/…/critical-thinking-in-diagnosin…/

29) Idiopathic Intracranial Hypertension – https://journal.opted.org/articles/Volume37_number3_Summer_2012.pdf