ASCO Board of Directors Appoints Dawn Mancuso, MAM, CAE, FASAE, as Executive Director

June 16, 2015

ROCKVILLE, MD, June 16, 2015 – The Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry’s (ASCO) Board of Directors is pleased to announce the appointment of Dawn Mancuso, MAM, CAE, FASAE, as its Executive Director.

Ms. Mancuso replaces Marty Wall who is retiring in July.

A seasoned leader in the non-profit association industry and the former Chief Executive Officer of the Hydrocephalus Association, Mancuso will serve as the lead executive responsible for the administration, operations and representation of ASCO with all member institutions and affiliates in optometric education. She will also continue the association’s strong collaborations with other organizations in the profession and forge partnerships with other associations of health professions education to create greater visibility for optometry in the changing healthcare landscape.

“Dawn brings to ASCO her depth of experience in association management and her extensive expertise in successful strategic planning and implementation,” according to Dr. Jennifer Coyle, ASCO President and Dean of the College of Optometry at Pacific University. “We look forward to having her be an integral part of ASCO.”

“I am truly honored to be joining the great team at ASCO and excited about the opportunity to use my skills and experience to advance the importance of optometric education to both patients and the medical community,” said Dawn Mancuso.

“I am very fortunate to be coming on board with such a healthy and well regarded organization, which is a true testament to the hard work of Marty Wall and the board,” she added.

Ms. Mancuso’s first day will be August 31.


The Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO) is a non-profit association representing the interests of optometric education. Founded in 1941 and headquartered in Rockville, MD, ASCO is committed to achieving excellence in optometric education and to helping its member institutions prepare well-qualified graduates for entrance into the profession of optometry. Its membership encompasses the schools and colleges of optometry in the 50 states and Puerto Rico. A number of optometry schools outside the United States are affiliate members.